This tour offers an opportunity to discover the former port of Brussels, created between the two urban walls in the wake of the digging of the Willebroek canal (1561) linking the city to the Scheldt. Dug perpendicularly to the chain of basins entering the city through the Porte du Rivage, the Sainte-Catherine basin was built on the site of the ditch of the first city wall. For a long time, it was the main place for unloading heavy goods from ships using a wooden crane. This walk can be complemented by a visit to the archaeological site on Rue du Vieux Marché aux Grains 8-12 (to be booked separately).
Walk in the old harbour district of Brussels
Meeting point along the “Tour noire”, place Sainte-Catherine 29, 1000 Brussels
Duration 30 min
Only in French
Max. 15 persons